Teaching & Law

Torah is a Hebrew word used to refer to the first five books of the Bible: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. It means “instruction,” “teaching,” or “law.” The books contain God’s guidance and instruction for humankind as it was revealed to the people of Israel through Moses on Mount Sinai. These first five books of the Bible contain the written expectations (rules and instructions) for the covenant people of God to follow in response to God’s love.